Reading the Bible

For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope.  Romans‬ ‭15‬:‭4‬ (NIV)

It is difficult to explain to non-Christians how reading a book that was written by many authors, over many centuries, could be relevant to their lives today.  What the world sees as a dusty old book, that is not relevant, does in fact contain the the most relevant insights and advice.

The best way for me to describe the Bible is through the words of the following verse –

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.   Hebrews‬ ‭4‬:‭12‬ (NIV)

When I was a child and a teenager I often listened to the reading of Scripture in church but never found the words relevant to my life.  However, when I committed my life to Christ, I suddenly found a new relevance and vibrancy in what I was reading.  I found the Bible to be ‘… alive and active’.

I never tire of reading the Bible, although sometimes I assume when coming to read a familiar passage that I know what it will say to me.  However, I am constantly surprised that even in familiar passages of Scripture I see and hear something new and relevant to the situation in which I find myself.

So be encouraged to start a Bible reading plan.  Persist in reading the Bible every day.  Keep a notebook where you write down the verses which particularly speak to you.  Apply what you have read to your life.  You’ll be surprised at how relevant the Bible is to your life today.

Every blessing

 


[Archives – click on the icon at the top of the page]

Author: profsloan

The purpose of this blog is to encourage others to read the Bible and to discover Jesus Christ for themselves and to commit their lives to him. I will generally publish posts and a Verse for the Day on alternate days.

Leave a Reply

