God’s Living Word

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.
‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭4:12-13‬ ‭(NIV)

Have you ever read a novel a number of times?  Most of us rarely re-read novels.  I’ll admit to re-reading a select number of books, books that have held my imagination and interest.

The Bible is different to every other book I’ve ever read.  When I became a Christian I set myself the task of reading the Bible from cover to cover.  Over the years I have read and re-read both books, chapters and sections of Scripture.   What I have always found is that no matter how well I might think I know a passage, there is always something new God reveals to me through his word.

The writer of the Letter to the Hebrews in 4:12 tells us why the Bible is still relevant to us today, many thousands of years after it was written.  The writer says: ‘… the word of God is alive and active’.  We are not dealing with some dry and dusty old book that has no relevance to modern life.  The Bible is an exciting book that God uses to speak to people today with a relevance that can be surprising, but is always challenging.

If you have got out of the way of reading your Bible regularly, my prayer for you is that God will create in you an excitement to read his word.  I promise you that in the Bible you will find something new to challenge and encourage you.

Every blessing

 


[Archives – click on the icon at the top of the page]

Author: profsloan

The purpose of this blog is to encourage others to read the Bible on a regular basis and to discover that God's Word applies to daily life. I will generally publish posts and a Verse for the Day alternately.

Leave a Reply

