Passing on the truth

Since my youth, God, you have taught me, and to this day I declare your marvellous deeds.  Even when I am old and grey, do not forsake me, my God, till I declare your power to the next generation, your mighty acts to all who are to come.  Psalm‬ ‭71:17-18‬ ‭(NIV)

I became a Christian almost 45 years ago.  When I first read these verses from Psalms I would have been ‘in my youth’; well not quite, but in my late teens anyway.  I don’t remember thinking then that one day I would be older and greyer, as age just seems to creep up on you.

It is encouraging that God entrusts us with the truth and part of our responsibility is to pass it on to the next generation.  I find it thrilling that the psalmist describes what God has done as his ‘marvellous deeds’.  One thing I have always wanted is that I remain excited by what God has done and is doing in both my life and those around me.

Passing on the truth to the next generation can be a challenge.  As you get older it is easy to think that what you say won’t be of interest to the younger generation, or to believe they will see you as old and irrelevant.  The psalmist tells us how to go about it.  The same things that excited us in our faith will excite the next generation, so tell them about God’s ‘power’ and ‘mighty acts’.

Do you still marvel at God’s deeds?  Are you still as enthusiastic for Christ as you were when you first believed?  Becoming older brings with it many challenges, but it also carries many privileges.  One of these is sharing what God has done in your life over an extended period.  Remember that young Christians are interested to know that God has been faithful to you in all the ups and downs of life.  Recognise that they are just starting their journey with Christ, so encourage them.

Notice that the psalmist uses the word ‘declare’ twice in these verses from Psalm 71.  So don’t be afraid to speak up.  Even if you are older, you still have something of relevance to share with the next generation.

Every blessing


 

[Archives – click on the links at the side of the WordPress webpage]

Author: profsloan

The purpose of this blog is to encourage others to read the Bible on a regular basis and to discover that God's Word applies to daily life. I will generally publish posts and a Verse for the Day alternately.

Leave a Reply

