Christ took hold of me

imageNot that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.  Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.  But one thing I do: forgetting what is behind and straining towards what is ahead, I press on towards the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenwards in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 3:12-14 (NIV)

Read: Philippians 3

Consider: How would you describe your encounter with God that led to you committing your life to Christ?

For some your commitment may have come about after years of thinking about faith and the slow realisation of your need for forgiveness. For others it may have been quite a dramatic experience, turning to Christ for forgiveness after hearing the gospel.

In Philippians 3:12 Paul describes his experience in these terms – ‘… Christ Jesus took hold of me’. I find these words very descriptive and indicative of how Christ takes hold of you when you commit your life to him. Think for a moment about that and what image do you have in your mind? Is it of Christ pulling you away from danger, holding you tightly? Is it of Jesus holding you in a firm embrace, assuring you that your sins have been forgiven? Is it of Christ holding you as he welcomes you into his family, as a child of God? Maybe for you it could be of Jesus holding you tightly to prevent you falling back into sin? I think it can be all of these things and more!

As you go through the Christian life take encouragement from the fact that Jesus has taken hold of you. He will be holding you through the good times and the bad. He will be holding you tightly when you have happy times and sad times. He will be holding you when you can feel his closeness, as well as the times when you think he is far away.

Pray: Father, we cannot fully understand the richness of the meaning of the words ‘… Christ Jesus took hold of me’.  May we be encouraged to rest in your hold day by day.  Amen

Every blessing

Author: profsloan

The purpose of this blog is to encourage others to read the Bible on a regular basis and to discover that God's Word applies to daily life. I will generally publish posts and a Verse for the Day alternately.

Leave a Reply

