Who will listen? (3)

imageSo I will go to the leaders and speak to them; surely they know the way of the LORD, the requirements of their God.’ But with one accord they too had broken off the yoke and torn off the bonds.
Jeremiah 5:5 (NIV)

Read: Jeremiah 5:4-12

Consider: Having seen that the ordinary people had turned their back on God, Jeremiah’s prophesy turns its attention to the leaders; those in authority over the people.

You may not agree with Jeremiah’s logic that the ordinary people are unlearned, but you probably agree that those in authority should know better. Where we are able to choose our leaders it might be because we agree with their policies, their promises strike a note in our hearts, they inspire us or we want to trust them to do a good job. Whatever the reason, we expect much of them. Interestingly, so does God.

When planning this short series of posts it became clear that the date of publication would coincide with the inauguration of Donald Trump as President of the United States. I’ll admit that living in the UK, American politics baffles me. I’ll also admit that I don’t know what kind of leader Donald Trump will be. However, I know someone who does!

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.
Psalm 139:13-16 (NIV)

Donald Trump like everyone else is known by God. What we need to pray for is that leaders throughout the world would recognise God’s sovereignty and bow to Him. This will be enormously difficult for some, but a leader’s success will not be measured by how tough they are, but by how humble they are.

Pray: Father, we pray for those in authority at all levels in our nations. We pray that they would not lose sight of the fact that their authority is given to them by you. Protect them from arrogance and help them to use their powers for the good of mankind. May your Holy Spirit show them the frailty of human nature and man’s need of forgiveness in Christ. Amen

Every blessing

Author: profsloan

The purpose of this blog is to encourage others to read the Bible and to discover Jesus Christ for themselves and to commit their lives to him. I will generally publish posts and a Verse for the Day on alternate days.

Leave a Reply

