The Seven Deadly Sins

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Romans 6:23 (NIV)

Read: Romans 6:1-23

Consider: I have often wondered why the seven deadly sins are classified as only seven and also why they are called deadly.  The seven deadly sins are thought of as seven vices, or abuses of natural tendencies in ourselves that characterise a life that is not centred on Christ.

The verse above from Romans 6:23 is clear that the natural outcome of all sin is death.  As human beings we tend to classify sin from relatively minor things (e.g. telling lies), to major things (e.g. stealing and murder).  But this is not how God sees things.  God sees all sin, whatever its manifestation, as separating mankind from himself.  

Returning to the seven deadly sin, they are generally listed as lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy and pride.  It is evident from this listing that there are many sins that are not mentioned, even some that are included in the ten commandments.  The seven sins are usually contrasted with the seven virtues of chastity, temperance, charity, diligence, patience, kindness, and humility (characteristics of a life in Christ).  

While sin separates mankind from God, he has provided the solution to the problem.   The second part of Romans 6:23 says:  ‘… but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord’.  Thankfully God has provided the remedy for sin through the sacrificial death of his Son on the cross.  This gift is freely available to anyone who truly repents and places their trust in Jesus Christ as their Lord and Saviour.

Over the next fourteen days (seven devotional posts on alternate days) we will look at each of these sins and virtues in turn to see what the Bible has to say about them.

Pray:  Father, we know that our natural tendency is to fall in to sin and to rebel against your authority over our lives.  We thank you that you have provided forgiveness through the death of your Son in our place.  May your Holy Spirit work in us to develop Christ-like characteristics.  Amen

Every blessing

© 2023

Author: profsloan

The purpose of this blog is to encourage others to read the Bible daily and to grow in Christ. Each day I will generally publish a devotional or a reading for the day, together with a prayer.

%d bloggers like this: