Do not dwell on the past

Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.
Isaiah 43:18-19 (NIV)

Read: Isaiah 43:14-28

Consider: Isaiah’s prophecy in today’s reading is directed towards the Israelites who were in captivity in Babylon.  Earlier in the chapter we read: But now, this is what the Lord says – he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel; Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name, you are mine (Isaiah 43:1).  These words must have been encouraging for those in exile in Babylon.  As exiles, they may have been tempted to think that God had forgotten them, but the truth was that God had not forgotten them, but was planning their return.  We also read:: For I am the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour (43:3b).  No other god could say that he knew his people by name.  The exiles had a choice, either to believe what God said or to wallow in self-pity. 

Turning to today’s reading the opening words are: This is what the Lord says – your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel (43:14a). In this section God reminds the people of Israel of his mercy, despite their unfaithfulness.  To remind them of his mercy, God uses an example from the history of the people of Israel during their exodus from Egypt (43:16-17). Of course, the people could have been tempted to complain that what God did for their ancestors, did not guarantee that he would deal with them in the same way.  God knows that we are all quick to forget what he has done for us and he says: ‘Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland’ (43:18-19).  While the Israelites would have heard the oral history of their people, God reassures them that he is going to do something new.

Having spoken of his mercy, God moves on to confront the Israelites of their unfaithfulness.  He highlights their sinfulness when he says: ‘Yet you have not called on me, Jacob, you have not wearied yourselves for me, Israel. You have not brought me sheep for burnt offerings, nor honoured me with your sacrifices. I have not burdened you with grain offerings nor wearied you with demands for incense. You have not bought any fragrant calamus for me, or lavished on me the fat of your sacrifices. But you have burdened me with your sins and wearied me with your offences’ (43:22-24).  While God points out the sinfulness of the Israelites, he does not leave them hopeless of reconciliation.  We read: ‘I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more’ (43:25).  God’s offer of forgiveness is open to all and can be trusted because it is not dependent upon anything the Israelites could do to earn it.

As Christians today we can look back to things that God has done for previous generations.  However, although this can give us confidence in the mercy of God, it is important for us to experience what God is doing in our time and doing in our lives day-by-day.  When we share our faith with others, we can speak from direct experience of the relationship we have with God.

Pray: Father, we see that the lives of the people of Israel reveal their unfaithfulness, but despite this you poured out your love on them and offer them forgiveness.  May we value the witness of the previous generations of Christians, but also look for what you are doing in our day and with our generation, calling people to repent and seek your forgiveness and reconciliation.  Amen

Every blessing

© 2024 nocondemnation.com

Author: profsloan

The purpose of this blog is to encourage others to read the Bible daily and to grow in Christ. Each day I will generally publish a devotional or a reading for the day, together with a prayer.